Error 1723 removing JDK 6u27

Ran into a puzzler this morning when I was trying to implement a change ticket for removing the Java JDK version 6u27 from a server. The error was:

Error 1723. There is a problem with this Windows Installer package. A DLL required for this install to complete could not be run. Contact your support personnel or package vendor.

jdk-remove-error

I tried to install the JDK again figuring that the problem would be resolved by that action. Instead I got the same error. After searching for a few minutes (Google failed me) I tried a different approach.

I went to a server that had the specific JDK version installed and simply copied the Files from the folder on that server to the folder on the afflicted server. Once that finished I tried the uninstall again – Success! the uninstall completed successfully.

I’m unsure of exactly what DLL was missing but it was something inside that folder.

HTH.

Copyright info

Comments are closed.